2017 AIA Peconic Design Awards Announced


AIA Peconic announced the winners of the 2017 Daniel J. Rowen Design Awards Program at a public event on December 2nd held at the Ross School, Senior Lecture Hall in East Hampton.  A Celebrating Architecture reception preceded the Awards ceremony which was hosted by Bill Chaleff, AIA. The Awards were presented by Design Awards Chair, Bill Chaleff, AIA and AIA Peconic President, Michele Hugo, AIA to an audience of approximately 50 guests and supporters of the work of local architectural firms and members of AIA Peconic.  The entire evening was made possible through the generous sponsorship of TruStile Doors a manufacturer of high-quality, interior and exterior, MDF, wood and glass doors for residential and commercial use and SuperEnterprises which is the exclusive residential and commercial distributor for the Marvin family of windows & doors.

The 2017 Jurors found reviewing the initial thirty projects a rewarding challenge.  Stephen P-D Chu, AIA from Ennead Architects, William Randy McGee, AIA from ZGF Architects and Earl Jackson, AIA from Earl Jackson Architecture Workshop reviewed projects categorized as Architecture, Historical Preservation, Adaptive Reuse, and Unbuilt Projects and presented nine awards recognizing three levels of excellence in architectural design.  Submissions were real or conceptual but required to reflect a solution related to the built environment.


2017 AIA Peconic / Daniel J. Rowen Design Awards



Honor Award: Old Orchard / Architecture — Blaze Makoid Architecture

Honor Award: North Main / Architecture — Bates Masi + Architects LLC

Merit Award: Mid-Century Modern Revived / Historical Preservation — Austin Patterson Disston Architects

Merit Award: Georgica Cove / Architecture — Bates Masi + Architects LLC

Merit Award: Atlantic Architecture — Bates Masi + Architects LLC

Juror Award: Guest House / Architecture — Roger Ferris and Partners

Juror Award: Black House / Adaptive Reuse — Oza / Sabbeth Architecture

Juror Award: Huntting Lane / Adaptive Reuse — Blaze Makoid Architecture

Juror Award: House on the Point / Architecture — Stelle Lomont Rouhani Architects