Silverbrook Art Glass Works
1943 – 1976
Hand-blown glass art manufactured with centuries-old techniques by the Kreutz brothers of Riverhead.
In our History in the Hall display cases throughout the month of January 2021
For the first time in over 30 years our entire Silverbrook Collection is being showcased in our museum! After fleeing their native Czechoslovakia in 1937 in fear of a Hitler invasion, the four Kreutz brothers came to the United States as fifth-generation glass-blowers, settling in Suffolk County and establishing their glassworks company on Flanders Road in Riverhead. Unlike most other glassware manufacturers using machines at the time, Joseph, Henry, Frank, and John Kreutz used the traditional centuries-old hand-blown glass techniques they had learned in their homeland to create extraordinary glass art pieces.
More information: 631-727-2881
Gallery Hours: Weds. – Sat., 10:00 am – 4:30 pm
SUFFOLK COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY MUSEUM
The Suffolk County Historical Society Museum is open to the public for a safe, socially-distanced family outing with 15-minute intervals between parties. Exhibits provide a safe, “touchless” experience for adults and children alike. Masks are required of all museum visitors over age 2.
300 West Main St. Riverhead, NY 11901