July 20, 2011
Clinton Academy, 1784, East Hampton
Clinton Academy was one of the first academies in New York State chartered by the Board of Regents. The Academy was constructed in 1784 with funds contributed by local citizens at the request of the Reverend Samuel Buell, pastor of the East Hampton Presbyterian Church.
This remarkable Academy was a coeducational institution preparing young men for college or for careers such as seafaring or surveying. Young women were schooled in spiritual reading and the finer points of being a lady.
The first headmaster, Reverend Buell, gave instruction in Latin as well as Greek and French. Students came from a broad range of places including Long Island, New York City, New Jersey and Connecticut as well as from the West Indies.
After the State dissolved the chartered academy system, Clinton became a community center, a playhouse, town offices and briefly housed “The East Hampton Star”.
This late Georgian style building was restored in 1921 by Mr. Lorenzo E. Woodhouse. Visitors can enjoy the Mimi Meehan Native Plant Garden behind the property, a project of the Garden Club of East Hampton.
- Open Memorial Day weekend – Columbus Day weekend and for exhibitions
- Saturday 10 – 5 / Sunday 12 – 5 / or by appointment
- Admission is free but contributions are appreciated.
- EHHS Members Free
—- East Hampton Historical Society
Clinton Academy Gardens